Thank you

Today I was reminded of the power of words.  How we can say something that doesn’t have any meaning or significance to us but can mean so much to others.  How our words can cause others so much hurt and pain, having the power to change the rest of their day, weekend, week. We always mean to think before we speak but it is so hard, and we simply are not aware of the possible impact of our words.  Today I was reminded of how much hurt and pain I can cause.

I recently read (probably on Facebook and I can’t find it again) a ‘quote’ advising that we should say thank you instead of saying sorry.  That if we start thanking others instead of apologising we are acknowledging them more and valuing ourselves more.  In the last two weeks I have been trying this and it is hard.  Sorry is one of the words I use quite a lot – especially to my husband.  Changing the “sorry I am not good enough”, or the “sorry I am a burden” to a thank you requires discipline and strength that often I don’t have.

So today instead of saying sorry for the things I have done,  the words that I have said and the negative feelings you had had because of me I am saying ‘THANK YOU’.  Thank you for taking the time to be part of my life,  thank you for being in my family, thank you for being my friend, thank you for listening to me, thank you for taking the time to do something for me, for my family and for my community.  Thank you for accepting me flaws in all, thank you for sharing your life with me, thank you for your support.

To the person who reminded me of the power of a few words – thank you for still being my friend, for you support and for your kind words.

 

One Reply to “Thank you”

  1. Dear beautiful daughter.,
    Thank you , thank you, thank you for being . That is all you need to be . I love your warm heart .
    I want to use what gypsy have written to help others
    Thank you for being a part of my life
    Nan

    Like

Leave a Reply

